more on the cappuccino..

I’ve tried to write a post on this thing all week and for some reason I keep getting stuck.  That feels like the theme in my life right now, trying to make a decision and getting stuck.  It’s not a massively deep thing necessarily, although maybe it is.  And perhaps this follows on from the last post where I advocated for finding the good… but it’s not that simple is it?  Because what I think is good is not what you think is good, for starters…and then there’s the stuff that is not so obviously black or white – which is EVERYTHING…example – I enjoy one of my beautiful cappuccinos, great…or is it?  Because it opens up about 20 new questions:

1. Where did my coffee and milk come from?

2. Is it local?

3. Is it fair trade?

4. Is it organic?

5. Is it fat-free? (jokes – anyone who knows me knows that question probably wouldn’t feature!)

6. Were the cows given a big open meadow with lush green grass?

7. Should I really be enjoying a cappuccino when 1 in 8 people in our world don’t even have access to a cup of clean water?

8. What about all the energy I’ve used just to get this cup of coffee: is it from a renewable source?

Ok, 8 questions, but that was just off the top of my head and for something as “simple” as a cup of coffee.  The thing is, I believe that I, a disciple trying to be more like Jesus/a human/a peacemaker/an advocate for justice/the church, NEED to be asking these questions and desperately trying to find answers…not for the sake of having answers but because the consequences of everything that I do, say and think might just affect someone else and I want that affect to be for the good (whatever that is?!!).

So what’s the answer?  Do I even have a question yet?  It seems that my values (or something) in life are almost paradoxical – I want to live a life that is sacrificial, simple, celebratory, real, full of joy, full of brokenness and sometimes my head gets lost in trying to make sense of it.  But maybe thinking is enough, it’s a start and sometimes ‘thinks’ lead to ‘dos’ or even change.  This post doesn’t have a nice conclusion, I’ve barely scratched the surface actually but in my own mind what I have concluded is that a cappuccino might be good…I can enjoy it, but I  don’t deserve it, I’m not entitled to it and I maybe shouldn’t even expect it.  It’s put really well in the 24-7 prayer vision:

“You see bones? I see an army. And they are FREE from materialism.

They laugh at 9-5 little prisons. They could eat caviar on Monday and crusts on Tuesday. They wouldn’t even notice.  They know the meaning of the Matrix, the way the west was won. They are mobile like the wind, they belong to the nations. They need no passport.. People write their addresses in pencil and wonder at their strange existence. They are free yet they are slaves of the hurting and dirty and dying. What is the vision ? The vision is holiness that hurts the eyes. It makes children laugh and adults angry. It gave up the game of minimum integrity long ago to reach for the stars. It scorns the good and strains for the best. It is dangerously pure.

Light flickers from every secret motive, every private conversation. It loves people away from their suicide leaps, their Satan games. This is an army that will lay down its life for the cause.”

…for the full version see https://www.24-7prayer.com/about/thevision-en

This is about more than finding the good in a cappuccino, I think this might just be about finding Jesus.

What’s good for you?

 

 

One response to “more on the cappuccino..

  • Claire

    it’s good to know that others struggle with these same questions…i just hope that its enough to struggle with the questions, as i never seem to come up with the answers!

Leave a Reply

